Vice President, Republic of Indonesia


H.E. Jusuf was born in Watampone, South Sulawesi on 15 May 1942. He is the 11th Vice President of Indonesia, after winning the 2014 presidential election together with President Joko Widodo.

H.E. Kalla is a businessman and politician. He graduated from the Economics Faculty at Hasanuddin University in 1967 and INSEAD, an international business school in Fontainebleau, south of Paris in 1977. H.E. Kalla received several honorary degrees from several universities, including University of Malaya (Malaysia) in 2007, Soka University (Japan) in 2009, Indonesia University of Education, Hasanuddin University, Syiah Kuala University, Brawijaya University in 2011 and University of Indonesia in 2013.

From 1985 to 1998, he was the Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KADIN) in South
Sulawesi and was coordinator for KADIN in eastern Indonesia. In 1987, he was appointed to the People’s Consultative Assembly (MPR) as a regional representative for South Sulawesi. He was re-appointed to the MPR in 1992, 1997, and 1999. In 1999, H.E. Kalla was appointed as Minister of Industry and Trade in former President Abdurrahman Wahid’s cabinet. Following the removal of Abdurrahman Wahid from the presidency in 2001, President Megawati Sukarnoputri appointed H.E. Kalla as Coordinating Minister of People’s Welfare.

H.E. Kalla contributed signifcantly in solving the inter-religious conflict in Poso on his native island of Sulawesi. He facilitated the negotiation which resulted in the signing of the Malino II Accord on 20 December 2001 and end to the conflict which had gone on for three years. Two months later, he helped solve another conflict in Sulawesi. On 12 February 2002, H.E. Kalla, together with Coordinating Minister of Politics and Society Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, managed to solve a similar conflict on Ambon and Molucca through the second Malino Declaration.

From 2004-2009, H.E. Kalla was the 10th Vice President of the Republic of Indonesia after winning the runoff with 60.1% of the vote with President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono at the presidential election. On 22 December 2009, he was elected as chairman of Indonesian Red Cross Society.